SPB-1 1987 Season            Status: Draft in August


Current League Champion

SPB1-1986 Champion

Steve Lehman
Bloomington Hoosiers


Third straight World Series matchup betwen the Hoosiers and Mountaineers goes to Hoosiers in seven games.

SPB-1 League Officers


John Turnbull


Rick Ryan


John Turnbull

Beat Writer

Joe Dezarlo

SPB-1 News that's fit to print

July 8, 2024

1987 New Manager

Longtime SPB Manager Mike See has relinquished his Las Vegas Thunder franchise to concentrate on running SPB-60 and SPB2. Stepping into fill the void is a former SPB manager, Craig Korol. Craig will be renaming the team to the Wichita Wind Surge, and will remain in the Metrodome. Welcome aboard again Craig!

May 8, 2024

1987 Open Stadii

Based on the two stadium swaps, the open parks are now The Astrodome, Busch Stadium, Oakland Coliseum, and Olympic Stadium.

May 8, 2024

1987 Managerial Changes

Managers Dave Lauer and Rich Applegate have decided to step aside, and are leaving SPB-1. I thank them both for the many years they have committed to the league. We have two past SPB managers stepping back into the fold. Replacing Dave will be Greg Nolen, who will rename his team to the Carolina Bandits. Greg will be abandoning the Astrodome, and moving into Dodger Stadium. Replacing Rich will be Vin Onstott, who will be renaming the team to Le Rouge. He is also abandoning Busch Stadium and will be moving into Jack Murphy Stadium.

April 22, 2024

1986 Champion Crowned

Congratulations to Steve Lehman and the Bloomington Hoosiers for taking back the crown from the Mountaineers, who have met for the past three SPB-1 World Series.

Jan 17, 2024

1986 July Power Rankings

1986 Beat writer Mace Matayc provides us with his 1986 July power rankings.

Sept 7, 2023

1986 Predictions

Thanks to Mace for an excellent writeup of the 1986 season predictions.

July 14, 2023

1985 Recap

Thanks goes out to Mace Matayc for his personally-flavored and very accurate recap of the 1985 season and his outlook for each franchise. A very good read indeed!

April 13, 2023

1985 Use or lose

This was sent to all through email, but here is the official 1985 Use or lose list for the season. Those who still have playing time left will be placed in their next playing years' rookie draft.

April 13, 2023

SPB1 September recaps and Final Power Rankings

Thanks to Mace Matayc with his pennings for the month of September and all that he has done during the season. Click for POWER RANKINGS and SEPTEMBER RECAP. Thanks Mace!

April 12, 2023

1985 Cinderella team wins it all!

Congratulations to Steve Brunner and his Blue Ridge Mountaineers for capturing the 1985 World Series crowns! It was not an easy path, as he went though the division winning Scotties, then the 2-best 100-win teams in the Mets and Hoosiers to take home the crown. Complete boxscores and writeups are in the Playoff section. Congrats!

April 1, 2023

1986 Team happenings

Manager Jim Wheeler has decided to rename his Preble Zorros to the Hatteras Pelicans. He will also vacate the Oakland Coliseum to Arlington Stadium.
This leaves Dodger Stadium, Jack Murphy Stadium, Oakland Coliseum and Olympic Stadium as the four available stadii.

January 8, 2023

SPB1 June recaps and Power Rankings

Thanks to Mace Matayc with his pennings for the month of June. Click for POWER RANKINGS and JUNE RECAP. Thanks Mace!

December 2, 2022

More SPB-1 leaks. Where is Pete and Felipe?

More insider information/hijinks are taking place, with Mace Matayc and the Milwaukee Daily Press reporting it all!

December 2, 2022

1985 May power rankings and review

Thanks to Mace Matayc (a.k.a.: Street & Schmoody's) for providing his version of the team power rankings through the month of May. Also linked is the May league review. Enjoy!

October 28, 2022

More controversy in Milwaukee

Another article has been leaked by SPBleaks, detailing more controversy in Milwaukee.

October 8, 2022

Milwaukee on the Road?

Check out this article by Mace Matayc outlining a possible move from Milwaukee at the end of the season.

April 5, 2022

1985 Season Predictions

Thanks to Mace Matayc, he has written a very extensive deep dive into the 1985 season, providing his unfettered predictions for the upcoming season. Great Job Mace!

April 5, 2022

1985 Team name change

The South Bend Cubs, managed by Rick Ryan are pulling up stakes in South Bend, and will now be known as the Indy Alley Cats.


September 1, 2023

Season Begins

March, 2024


Historical Information

Established: 1992
Starting Season: 1954
Seasons: 29
Games: 44626
Trades: 1275

Page last updated
July 08, 2024